Committee on Groundwater

The Committee on Groundwater (COG) reports to and provides technical advice to the Board on groundwater issues. The COG deals with questions and studies related to the use and the quality of groundwater shared by the provinces. The COG also reports any unusual or emergency groundwater quantity or quality issues using the Contingency Plan. The Secretariat provides support as the COG is chaired by the Executive Director. The COG Secretary participates in the technical work and records Meeting Minutes.

Patrick Cherneski


Environment and Climate Change Canada

Eric Boisvert

Government of Canada Member

Natural Resources Canada

Kei Lo

Saskatchewan Member

Water Security Agency

Alex Oiffer

Alberta Alternate Member

Alberta Environment and Protected Areas

Anatoly Melnik

Saskatchewan Alternate Member

Water Security Agency

Steve Grasby

Government of Canada Alternate Member

Natural Resources Canada

Tricia Rittaler

Manitoba Alternate Member

Manitoba Environment and Climate Change

Ron Woodvine

Government of Canada Member (Acting)

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

The MAA provides for an equitable sharing of available waters for all eastward flowing streams that cross interprovincial boundaries, including lakes and serves to protect transboundary aquifers and surface water quality.